Coral, Rocks and Ocean, Thailand 2

Rocks, coral and ocean from room 516(loose),22:10:15

Acrylic on Black Paper, 14.5 x 20.5 cm, 22/10/2015

This picture was done at the same time as the previous larger painting at the same location. A few years ago I noticed that as I paint ” en plain air” one of the issues was having to wait for paint to dry or having excess paint leftover, so I started to experiment with doing more than one picture at a time. This not only allows me to test colours and tones before applying them to the “main” picture, it also allows me to be looser and more free with my mark making, sometimes leading to unexpected results. On this trip I decided to try working on black paper and I like the different feeling it gives these smaller expressive paintings.

Leave a Reply

