Night Time Shadows

night-time-shadows-acrylic-on-paper-30-x-21-cm-191216

Acrylic on Paper, 30 x 21 cm, 19/12/16

This is a view of an Alley that can be seen from my flat in Nangang, Taipei City that I have wanted to paint for a while. I find the combinations of colours and angles very interesting and it seems to shine or glow out of the darkness of its’ surroundings. There are also many different shades and shadows cast across the scene that add to it’s attraction for me. Every time I look out of the window it catches my eye because there seems to be so much going on in such a small area. I painted it from my balcony and used very thin layers of Acrylic Paint to build it up, giving it the soft almost blurry effect. I avoided redefining the edges to keep this softer focus as I wanted to try something different from my previous works.

Leave a Reply

