Ian Andain Portrait Commission

Ian Andain Finished Portrait 2016

Oil on Canvas, 46 x 60 cm, 2016

This Oil Painting on Canvas was done as a Portrait Commission for the subject’s 70th Birthday in 2017. It was commissioned as a surprise by his brother and was very bravely unveiled at Ian’s 70th Birthday Party in front of many of his friends before he had seen it! I feel very honoured to have been a part of this special celebration. I completed this Portrait from September to November 2016 working from photographic references. I really enjoyed painting this Portrait and I find that changing my subjects and mediums helps to improve my understanding and ability with different materials and techniques. I am very happy with the outcome of this portrait and tried to use new techniques and glaze mediums on it.

2 comments on “Ian Andain Portrait Commission

  1. Robert King says:

    He won’t remember me, but he was my History teacher at De La Salle Grammar School, Liverpool, in the mid 1970s.
    Simply the finest teacher I have ever had. I still recall a lesson on Hannibal from then.
    I adored History lessons and finally got round to being a mature student in 2004.
    Thank you, Ian. I got a 2:1 and won magazine prize for my dissertation.
    Unsurprisingly, it was in History. Sorry for delay.

    • dloduk says:

      Hi Robert, thanks for your comment on Ian’s portrait, it sounds like he was a really good teacher and big influence on you. It’s never too late to follow your interests or passions.I have forwarded your kind words into him, take care, David.

Leave a Reply

